[Zoom] How to use the waiting room function to allow entry to a meeting

[Zoom] How to use the waiting room function to allow entry to a meeting
Notes
・Since this content is intended to provide general information, it includes initiatives in which we are not involved.
・Photos and images used in the article are images. It may differ from the content provided by the actual product or service.
・The content of this blog is based on the information at the time of publication. Therefore, regarding the content of the product, images and operating procedures may differ from the current version due to version upgrades, etc.

*Zoom and services that include the name Zoom are services provided by Zoom Video Communications, Inc.

From July 15, 2022, Zoom will have a 40-minute limit even for meetings with two participants if you have a free subscription. (Previously, it was only for meetings with 3 or more people.)
Companies and organizations using Zoom for business should consider switching to a paid license at this opportunity.

When holding a Zoom meeting, it is recommended to enable the “waiting room” function.

The waiting room is a function that is prepared as a cushion before entering the meeting room, and it helps prevent unauthorized participation by allowing only authorized users to enter the room.

In this article, we will explain how to enable the waiting room function and the procedure for actually allowing entry.

Customization functions for licensed users are also introduced, so please refer to them as well.

Enable entry permission settings for Zoom meetings

Enable entry permission settings for Zoom meetings

Enabling the Waiting Room feature allows the host to control who can enter the meeting room.

First, let’s take a closer look at the versions of Zoom that can use the entry permission setting and the steps to enable it.

Prerequisites for using the Waiting Room feature

To use the Zoom waiting room function, the installed version of Zoom must meet the following.

Zoom desktop client

  • Windows: 4.6.2 or later
  • macOS: 4.6.2 or later
  • Linux: 2.0.87130.0317 or newer

Zoom mobile app

  • Android: 4.0.21432.0116 or newer
  • iOS: 4.0.21521.0116 or newer

Account unit

The procedure to enable entry permission settings for all users participating in the Zoom account is as follows.

  1. Sign in as a user with administrator privileges on the Zoom website (https://zoom.us/)
  2. Click “Account Management”
  3. Click “Account Settings”
  4. Within the Meetings tab, scroll down to Waiting Room and check to enable
  5. To change the setting range, click “Edit options” and set (select all participants, guest participants only, etc.)

You can also click the key-shaped icon to lock settings so that they cannot be changed for each group or user.

See also  Confirm how to display the participant list, how to view the attendance status, and how to output

Group unit

The procedure to enable entry permission settings for all users included in a specific group is as follows.

  1. Sign in as a user with group administrator privileges on the Zoom website (https://zoom.us/)
  2. Click “User Management”
  3. Click “Group management”
  4. Select the name of the group you want to add settings to and click the “Meetings” tab
  5. Scroll down to Waiting Room and check to enable
  6. To change the setting range, click “Edit options” and set (select all participants, guest participants only, etc.)

In addition, if the entry permission setting is disabled for each account and is locked, it cannot be enabled for each group.

You will need to contact your account administrator to unlock it.

per user

The procedure to enable the entry permission setting for the Zoom meeting hosted by yourself is as follows.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom website (https://zoom.us/)
  2. Click “Settings”
  3. Within the Meetings tab, scroll down to Waiting Room and check to enable
  4. To change the setting range, click “Edit options” and set (select all participants, guest participants only, etc.)

This also cannot be changed if it is locked on a group or account basis.

Meeting unit

Follow the steps below to enable the entry permission setting for each meeting.

  1. Sign in on the Zoom website (https://zoom.us/)
  2. Click “Meeting”
  3. Select a meeting with the Waiting Room feature from the list of  webinar page. Here you will see a list of scheduled meetings
  4. Check and enable “Waiting Room” in Security Options
  5. Click “Save”

Meeting with Personal Meeting ID

The procedure to enable entry permission settings for all meetings that use Personal Meeting ID is as follows.

  1. Sign in on the Zoom website (https://zoom.us/)
  2. Click “Meeting”
  3. Click Edit in the Personal Meeting tab
  4. Check and enable “Waiting Room” in Security Options
  5. Click “Save”

Normally, anyone who knows your Personal Meeting ID will always be able to enter the meeting room.

Therefore, if you want to prevent unintentional entry, it is recommended to enable the entry permission setting.

How to use the waiting room feature

How to use the waiting room feature

Next, let’s take a closer look at the screen transition after enabling the entry permission setting.

Here, we explain the operation of the desktop application version of Zoom (Windows / Mac), but the basic flow is the same for smartphones and tablets.

See also  Explaining how to set keyboard shortcuts

Allow participants to enter the room during the meeting

If a new participant enters the room during the meeting, allow them to enter the room by following the steps below.

  1. Click “Participants” from the menu at the bottom of the screen
  2. Hover over the user displayed in the waiting room column
  3. Click “Allow”

Permission to enter everyone in the waiting room at once

The operation to allow the users displayed in the waiting room column to enter the room at once is as follows.

  1. Click “Participants” from the menu at the bottom of the screen
  2. Click “Allow everyone to enter”

Move meeting participants to the waiting room

Users who have already entered the meeting room can be moved to the waiting room again.

  1. Click “Participants” from the menu at the bottom of the screen
  2. Hover over the user you want to move to the waiting room
  3. Click “Details”
  4. Click “Return to Waiting Room”

Send a message to participants in the waiting room

The operation to send a message to a user in the waiting room is as follows.

  1. Click “Chat” from the menu at the bottom of the screen
  2. Click “Everyone (waiting room)” from the destination drop-down list
  3. Type and send a chat message

If you are a Zoom licensed user, you can also customize the waiting room

Users with a Zoom license can customize the waiting room title, logo, and description.

How to set customization is as follows.

    1. Sign in on the Zoom website (https://zoom.us/)

 

  1. Click “Settings”
  2. Scroll down to “Waiting Room” in the “Meetings” tab
  3. Click Customize Waiting Room
  4. Set the title, logo, and description
  5. Click “Close”

To join a Zoom meeting without permission

To join a Zoom meeting without permission

It is recommended to enable the entry permission setting for scenes such as company meetings and online classes, but it may not be necessary in private settings.

Also, there may be cases where you want to enter the meeting room before the host, or you want to start the meeting without the host.

If you make the following settings, you will be able to enter the meeting room at any time without permission to enter.

  1. Sign in on the Zoom website (https://zoom.us/)
  2. Click “Settings”
  3. Scroll down to “Waiting Room” in the “Meetings” tab and uncheck it to disable it
  4. Also in the “Meetings” tab, scroll down to “Allow participants to join before host” and check to enable
See also  Solve the problem of low sound and difficulty in hearing! How to adjust volume

However, if you disable the waiting room, there is a risk that a third party who has obtained the meeting ID / password by some means will enter the room illegally.

Even if it is a private place, it is recommended that you enable the entry permission setting and prevent anyone other than those involved from entering.

summary

  • Zoom has a “waiting room” function that allows you to enter the room and guide you to the meeting room.
  • When the waiting room is enabled, unauthorized users cannot enter the meeting room, which can be used as a means of preventing unauthorized access.
  • If you are a Zoom license user, you can freely customize the display contents of the waiting room

In the latest version of Zoom, the waiting room function is enabled by default, and basically there is no problem as it is.

This is a function that will help strengthen security measures, so please use it when you hold a Zoom meeting.